Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

 :: Dueling :: Lessons :: Rulings 101

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

Post by D.D. Eatos on Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:29 am

Continuous effects are effects that neither start a chain nor continue a chain. They are passive effects that will continue to affect the field while it remains face-up meaning they will stay active during chain's if they're condition(s) are fulfilled.

Continuous effects do not have effects until their summon is successful before their effect takes place.

Ex. Jinzo can be negated and destroyed by Solemn Judgement.

Continuous effects are able to bypass Spell Speed 3 spells if they are on the field first.

Ex. Jinzo can prevent Solemn Judgment from activating.

A monster cannot only have a Continuous Effect when it is treated as a monster card, unless it says so otherwise.

* If a monster with a Continuous Effect is attacked, after damage calculations if it is destroyed, its effect can no longer apply even if it is face up on the field.

Ex. Player 1 has a Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo in face-up Attack on the field and Tragoedia in hand. Player 2 has Blackwing - Shura the Blue Flame. If Player 2 attacks Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo with Blackwing - Shura the Blue Flame successfully, Player 1 lose 600 LP and can summon Tragoedia because after damage calculation Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo was destroyed by battle.

How to identify Continuous effects
There are many forms of texts for continuous effects, but they're usually worded with "While" or "if this card". The most common is stating that the monster is or has to be "Face-Up".

Confusion
Trigger Effects are also associated with "If this card", however they are optional. Keep in mind if the word "If" and "you can" are in the same sentence, it is not continuous.

Credits to Sinisterplantboy:
If a card text does not have a colon ( : ) or semi-colon ( ; ), it does not start a chain.

Replacement Effects
Cards with replacement effects like Gachi Gachi Gantetsu's "detach effect" do not start a chain; they are continuous. This is the only type of effect that bypasses the "optional rule" for continuous effects.

Cards with "If this face-up card would be _____, you can _____ instead." do not start chains.

Ex. of a Continuous Effect and Replacement Effect


Archlord Kristya


Attribute: Light
Level: 8
Type: Fairy/Effect
ATK/DEF: 2800/2300
Text: If you have exactly 4 Fairy-Type monsters in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand). When you do: Target 1 Fairy-Type monster in your Graveyard; add that target to your hand. Neither player can Special Summon monsters. If this face-up card would be sent from the field to the Graveyard, it returns to the top of the Deck, instead.


Last edited by D.D. Eatos on Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:49 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
D.D. Eatos
Teacher
Teacher

Posts : 194
Contribution : 308
Reputation : 18
Warning : No warning

Back to top Go down

Re: Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

Post by D.D. Eatos on Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:55 pm

Updated* Accidently posted 2 Safe Zone rulings.
avatar
D.D. Eatos
Teacher
Teacher

Posts : 194
Contribution : 308
Reputation : 18
Warning : No warning

Back to top Go down

Re: Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

Post by Argor42 on Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:08 pm

"They are passive effects that will continue to affect the field while it remains face-up meaning they can activate during chain's if they're condition(s) are fulfilled."

Continuous effects never activate, they apply. Activation in this game is used in the context of starting a chain. I would recommend changing how you phrase this.

"Continuous effects are NEVER optional!"

This is false, as optional Continuous Effects like those of Wind-Up Zenmaines and Gachi Gachi Gantetsu exist. You mention this later as a "replacement effect", but note that "replacement effect" is not an official game term. For the sake of clarity, I would recommend changing the above-quoted statement that they are never optional.

Also, there could be an explanation here regarding Continuous Effects of monsters that are destroyed but have not yet left the field (such as by being destroyed by battle). In this case, those effects stop applying.

Example: I destroy your face-up Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo with Blackwing - Shura the Blue Flame and dealing however much battle damage. After damage calculation has occurred, you may activate the effect of Tragoedia to Special Summon itself, because even though Fossil Dyna is still face-up on the field, it is destroyed, so it can't apply its Continuous Effect anymore.




avatar
Argor42
Obelisk BLue
Obelisk BLue

Posts : 10
Contribution : 14
Reputation : 2
Warning : No warning

Back to top Go down

Re: Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

Post by RekonZero on Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:24 pm

Argor42 for teacher anyone .-. btw great guides D.D. these actually help me a lot and i appreciate your efforts ^^




avatar
RekonZero
Ra Yellow
Ra Yellow

Posts : 1138
Contribution : 1413
Reputation : 9
Warning : 1st Warning

Back to top Go down

Re: Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

Post by D.D. Eatos on Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:50 am

Geez, seems like I've butchered that explanation.

Completely forgot about Gachi and Zenmaines replacement effects, thank you argor Smile.

I dont mind Argor being teacher.
avatar
D.D. Eatos
Teacher
Teacher

Posts : 194
Contribution : 308
Reputation : 18
Warning : No warning

Back to top Go down

Re: Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 :: Dueling :: Lessons :: Rulings 101

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum