Article #1 [Unique Rulings]

 :: Dueling :: Lessons :: Articles

Go down

Article #1 [Unique Rulings]

Post by Kyonaru on Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:05 pm

Unique Rulings:
This is a short article on some rulings most of you may or may not know. Today we're gonna talk about "Unique Rulings". Some of them are also called BKSS rulings (Because Konami Said So), and that name is given to them because they make absolutely zero sense. Let's take a look, shall we?

Scrap Dragon-like card text:
One of the most... stupid(?) unique rulings, is a ruling that states that monsters like Scrap Dragon, Grandmaster of the Six Samurai, Wattlemur, etc... have to be on their original controller's field to get their effects. Yes, every card with a text similiar to this:
When this card is destroyed by your opponent's card (either by battle or by card effect)
need to be on their original controller's side of the field to be able to use their effects. Reason? None. These guys' effects still activate in the graveyard/banished zone, but for some reason they don't apply if your opponent controls them and they are sent to your graveyard. For example, Player A uses Monster Reborn to get Grandmaster of the Six Samurai from player B's graveyard. Player A then uses Dark Hole. Player B will not get Grandmaster's effect because of the above ruling, even though it was destroyed by "an opponent's card effect" (Player A, original controller of the card: Player B. So technically player A is the opponent of player B), and sent to the original controller's graveyard (Player B). It's weird because if your opponent uses Monster Reborn on your Sangan, and then he uses Dark Hole to destroy it, you will get Sangan's effect. Although Sangan does not say it has to be destroyed by your opponent's card, so that might be the case.

Demise doesn't die BKSS:
Another weird ruling, and probably one of the most famous ones, is a ruling about Demise, King of Armageddon. At first it was unsure if it would be destroyed by it's own effect if flipped face-down during the chain by cards like Book of Moon. Players and Judges didn't know how to figure the problem out, so Konami brought out official documents that stated it wouldn't be destroyed. Although this ruling was contradictory, so it was called a BKSS ruling. The reason Demise doesn't get destroyed is because Konami said it doesn't, and that's how it has to be played. There's no reason. It just works like that.

That being said, those are only some of the BKSS rulings there are out there. I'm not even gonna get on the most complicated ones like the Elemental Lords' Battle Phase skipping effects, in this article. I will most likely write other articles, but I'm not promising anything. Thanks for reading.




avatar
Kyonaru
Exodia Platinum
Exodia Platinum

Posts : 596
Contribution : 798
Reputation : 54
Warning : No warning

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 :: Dueling :: Lessons :: Articles

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum